The kick-off meeting of the SYBAss (Superyacht Builders Association) Sustainability Committee was held yesterday 8th March in Viareggio, Italy.
VSY, as member of the association and initiator of the committee, hosted the first SYBAss sustainability committee meeting in the shipyard, marking the start of discussing a shared sustainability agenda for the superyacht builders united within SYBAss.
Besides the VSY team, the event brought together representatives from the SYBAss secretariat and other member shipyards part of the committee: Feadship and Oceanco from the Netherlands, and Benetti, Fincantieri and Perini Navi from Italy.
“The meeting was, first of all, an extraordinary occasion to launch a new business approach in a strategic sector that has the potential to lead the way towards the future of the entire boating industry.” – said Vienna Eleuteri, sustainability manager at VSY and President of Eulabor Institute, who was yesterday appointed chair of the committee. “It is the first time that a comprehensive and structured approach to sustainability issues is discussed by superyacht builders. Topics such as open innovation, transformative technology, big data and natural capital are the key words to look towards the future.”
“We are called upon everywhere to direct our choices, small or great, towards inclusive thinking and a viewpoint that is strategically more efficient.” – said Cristiana Longarini, Director at VSY, at the end of the meeting – “To exercise this responsibility means, for us, to put sustainability at the very centre of our corporate culture to ensure that it can become an instrument that is able to help deal with the great challenges and emergencies of our times.”
First row from left: Elisa Donnini WateRevolution traineeship; Lisa Merlo, Susanna Martorana and Vienna Eleuteri – VSY; Andrea Ivaldi – Fincantieri; Cristiana Longarini – VSY; Jacopo Molinari – Fincantieri; Hans Huisman – SYBAss; Emanuele Camporese – Benetti; Emma Morrison – SYBAss.
Second row from left: Ronno Schouten – Feadship; Marco Delpini – Perini Navi; Robert van Tol – SYBAss; Dirk de Jong – Oceanco; Daniele Petrozzi – VSY.